Trevyn Crosser, Mesa Fire Connector Program

Trevyn Crosser, Mesa Fire Department Connector Program volunteer

When did you begin volunteering?  November 2010

Why did you choose to volunteer?  I have a goal to become a firefighter and felt that this would be a good opportunity to give me insight to how the fire department functions.  I also have been a part of other volunteer opportunities and I enjoy giving back to the community. 

What volunteer activities have you participated in?  I have assisted in motorist assists, social service calls, on scene of fires either assisting the customer in getting necessary resources or assisting in rehabilitation sector.  I have also assisted the Mesa Fire Department in performing daily activities.  I have performed residential daycare inspections and made sure that they are safe for children to be taken care of.  I have been a part of many calls and activities that I feel have had a positive impact on the community. 

Can you share any moving moments or experiences that you have had while volunteering?  I have been a part of many experiences that have been moving.  I have been on scene of fires where I have dealt with customers that are watching their homes burn down and have lost loved ones.  It was difficult going through that experience with them, but I felt like I made this disaster a little easier by connecting them with Red Cross and other resources, which provided them with shelter, food, clothing, and other necessities that were lost in the fire.

Do you work and if so, what is your title and employer’s name?  Yes, I work full-time with PMT Ambulance as an EMT-B

Are you a student?  What are you studying and what is your career goal?  Yes, I am studying nursing and fire science.  My career goal is to be a firefighter.  I am also going to school for my nursing degree.  Ideally, I would like to work full-time as a firefighter and part-time as a nurse in the emergency room at a hospital.  I enjoy helping people when they are in a time of need.

This entry was posted in National Volunteer Week 2012 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment